Seat Belt Violation
In the United States, the Motor Vehicle Safety Standard requires all vehicles (except buses) to be fitted with seat belts in all designated seating positions. The actual seat belt laws vary state by state.
Is wearing a seat belt required?
Will a seat belt violation raise my insurance?
- When you are charged with a traffic violation in Florida in many cases you can avoid getting the points but once the points are on your drivers license you cannot remove them.
- If you are convicted of traffic violation such as speeding or any moving violation in Florida points will be accessed to your drivers license. And if you are an out of state driver the State of Florida will send the violation details to your state DMV.
- Fines are doubled when infractions occur within a school zone or construction zone, with possible civil penalties up to $1,000 and can be required to complete driving school course.
Why is a seat belt ticket a moving violation?
Causes of Driving Fatalities
In 2012, reckless driving and speeding accounted for 36% of all traffic fatalities.
Seat Belt State Statute & Penalties
- After receiving a moving non-criminal violation, if you don’t intend to fight it, it will typically be posted by the DMV to your driving record as soon as you are convicted.
- The length of time that a conviction stays on your record depends on the severity of the violation.
- Insurance companies can review and see the points that you have amassed on your record.
- If insurance companies see that your driving record has been tainted with various violations, they will determine you as a non safe driver and will therefore increase your total insurance costs and premiums.
- In the majority of the states, two systems are used to determine the severity of points,
- System 1: The majority of moving violations are represented as a single point. Violations that are more severe just as excessive speeding will count as two points. If a driver receives 4 points in a year or 6 in two years, or 8 in three years they are at risk of losing their license.
- System 2: Less grave violations such as minor speeding, turn signal violations count as two points. Severe violations like excessive speeding and running a stop sign can count up to 3, 4, or 5 points. If a driver receives over 12 points in a 1 year period, their license will be suspended.
The Power of a Good Traffic Attorney
No Increase in Insurance Premiums
No Court Appearance
How Can I Find The Right Legal Defense?
Ask These Questions
How much do you charge?
What can you do to help my case?
How many years have you been practicing law?
Are you part of any legal associations?
Locating An Attorney
Word of Mouth
Local Bar Association
Received a seat belt ticket? Use The Driver Defense Attorney Network!
At Driver Defense, we wanted to bring users maximum ease when searching for an attorney. Our Find-A-Lawyer map allows you to locate all of our network attorneys in your area. You can find an attorney by either entering an address or by letting our system find your position. In order to view an attorney’s full profile, you must click on their name. Click here to see what the different color pins stand for.